top of page
Recent Posts
Featured Posts

Concert Review: DEV


On December 11, 2015, I went to DEV’s concert, my third time doing so. Being two days after the last final of my first quarter at UCLA, it was the perfect way to finally unwind and jumpstart my well-deserved break. Who is DEV, you might ask? I’m sure you actually know her, you simply don’t know that you do. Ever heard the songs “In the Dark” and “Like a G6”? She’s the talented singer-songwriter/rapper behind those huge early-2010’s summer songs. Ever since her pregnancy and label troubles, DEV has gone independent, the head of her own label, and began to depend on a more intimate committed fanbase than the general public, hence her intimate tours in small theatres and clubs, which are the most fun thing. The concert of hers that I attended most recently last month was at Los Globos. Before the concert, I was excited and intrigued at the fact that there would be six opening acts, which is quite unprecedented. There’s no better place to discover amazing, underrated artists than at a DEV concert. And I would prefer an underrated talented artist to open for my fave than a more famous but average artist such as Becky G opening for Demi Lovato. However, the most exciting thing was that I won a live soundcheck and meet and greet with DEV on Twitter. Not only would I get to meet her again (the thrill never wears off), but she would give me and the few other winners a tease of her upcoming music. Having one of your faves perform for almost just you is unexplainable; I felt so special. And her meet and greets facilitate actual conversation and aren’t hounded by security, as opposed to my thirty-second Demi Lovato meet and greet which ended with security pushing you out. This meet and greet (and the last one) was like thirty minutes, and we talked about future music, life, favorite songs, and just about everything. Her complimenting my eyes was the best part as well as the picture. Soon after the meet and greet and soundcheck were over, the opening acts began to perform and those who bought general admission tickets without having won the soundcheck and meet and greet began to pour in. Quality absolutely trumps quantity, and not all of the opening acts were perfect, which is okay because I attend concerts for the main act. Nevertheless, two of the six opening acts really caught my attention with their talent, originality and artistry. They wowed me so much more than the majority of artists played on mainstream radio. The acts’ names are Charmaine and Rome Will Burn, and I enjoyed the experience of meeting both personally after their performances. Both of them sounded better live than studio, which is very telling of true talent. Charmaine is a charismatic pop-rapper like DEV with a really powerful voice and electro-pop production. Her pop songs despite catchy are not revolutionary, but her talent definitely shined through, which is the most important thing. Her catchiest songs that I enjoyed the most are “Brite Lites”, “We Are the Music”, and “Our Town”. The other act was the duo Rome Will Burn. They are an electro-pop act, but not just any. Along with synths and DJ production, they fuse strings - violins and guitars - into their music. To give you a rough idea of their sound, their music sounds like Tegan and Sara’s with Lindsey Stirling’s dubstep-violin instrumentals; however, they are most certainly their own act. Her most artistic songs include their original must-listen song ‘Chameleon” and their cover of “How Deep Is Your Love” by Calvin Harris featuring Disciples. Another favorite of mine is “Waging Romance”. Rome Will Burn had so much energy and dynamics on stage, really feeling the music, similarly to Ellie Goulding, who lead singer Alyssa Stone has been influenced by. Both have these original, slightly raspy, artistic voices that are immediately recognizable. In fact, I was so mesmerized by the duo’s tremendous performance that I bought their EP, which they brought to sell, on the spot, which the two both signed for me. It was a charming gesture and shows how important fans are to underrated acts. After the opening acts performed came the star of the show and her mainstream-successful songs, DEV. She performed both her upcoming music (in full this time rather than a tease) as well as her already-released music, including hit singles such as “In the Dark” and “Bass Down Low”. DEV interacted with the song so well; we were all right next to her, and she was on a slightly elevated platform. How she made this my best concert ever was that she handed me the microphone twice and let me sing, as she saw me singing and rapping along with her right in the front nailing all of her complicated rap lyrics that I’ve memorized over time. Encouraging me during the epic moment and giving me a high five afterwards both times was the most a fan could ever ask for from his fave. DEV slays her rapping, as well as her light, smooth singing; her voice is one of the most pleasing to listen, while both rapping/talking as well as singing. She has quite a lovely tone, especially when she does ballads; however, the general public doesn’t know that as they’ve only heard her club songs like “In the Dark” and “Like a G6”. They don’t know all the sides to the multifaceted and multitalented DEV, but I’m glad that I myself know. The signature moment at DEV concerts is always the cough in “Lightspeed”; I just think putting a cough in a song (especially right before the beat drop) is the most creat

ive and quirky thing. DEV and we the fans cough extremely loud at that part, and it’s just really fun. DEV’s other signature is saying “It’s the Cataracs” as she does in the majority of her early music, and no one else can say it like she does: Selena Gomez even tried in her song “Slow Down”, but failed immensely. It’s the art of the little things. After DEV slayed all her fans with her great vocals and music of her discography, she sticks around outside and talks to fans to free, which I think is extremely genuine and honorable. Most artists would not do, do not do, and have never done that. It’s as if she’s one with the fans, and I admire that humbleness. DEV is a great artist and her concerts are the most amazing experiences; she will always be one of my favorite artists not only because of her music, but because of her personality. I cannot wait for her next concert.


No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Archive
Tanaka Farms 1
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page