top of page
Recent Posts
Featured Posts

Artist Profile: Jamey Geston, the Indie Queen

How did you get started in music? I started when I was about nine or ten years old; I would play and sing at the local farmer's markets. I started getting attention because, "hey! look! small little child playing a sparkly pink guitar and singing, how adorable." After that, I started booking shows at little festivals and working my way up and around town. Who are your current influences? I love older music, like The Everly Brothers, The Shangri-Las, Nancy Sinatra, etc., so I take in influences from a lot of stuff like that. Some other names to drop into the list of influential artists for me are Elliott Smith, Angel Olsen, Beach House, The Summer Twins, Frankie Cosmos...wow I could go on and on, but I think I'll stop there for now.. 😊 Describe your overall style or genre. I'd like to think of my style and genre as dreamy, indie stuff with a lil bit of folk and even a little bit of surf. What do you like to do when you're not performing? I'm also an artist! Always drawing and painting and making stuff! I also really like film photography so I dabble in a bit of that too. I've recently started up acting again, as well, and lately I've been doing a lot of work on feature and student films, which is so much fun. What inspires you to write? Everything! I could be inspired by a nice meadow, or a pretty human, or even a lil pup. However, it's not just a simple "I'm gonna sit down and write about this." I really have toanalyze what I'm writing about. I like figuring out how to say what I want to get across in an unconventional way. It's exciting. What are your future goals with music? I just want to play cool shows, meet other cool artists, and take it as far as I can. I would love to get signed and tour and whatever else that may come, so that's definitely where I would like to head with my music. We'll see where it takes me!


No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Archive
Tanaka Farms 1
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page